Seasoned Advice is a question and answer site for professional and amateur chefs. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have seen recipes for gluten free American style pancakes, and suppose that they turn out OK as long as they contain something which keeps them from falling apart. But I was wondering if I can make gluten free palatschinken or crepes. I am reluctant to just use some gluten replacement like starch and non-wheat flours, because it won't bind the crepe together. And I want the result to be like a real crepe - very thin, and flexible enough to be rolled.

Does anybody have experience with gluten-free crepes? Do they work? If yes, how are they made, what should I pay attention to?

share|improve this question
Don't forget to participate in our gluten-free contest! See the Community bulletin for more detail. – rumtscho Apr 19 '12 at 11:59
Did you actually intend to remind yourself to participate in the gluten-free contest? ;=) – Rob Apr 19 '12 at 12:19
@rob I intend to increase visibility for the contest - I am not eligible for a prize, because I won two weeks ago. But if I get ideas for an interesting recipe to try, I will try it. – rumtscho Apr 19 '12 at 13:02
I don't know how but I know the answer is yes: last week I ate a gluten-free Dutch-style pancake at a Dutch pancake restaurant. Like any Dutch pancake, it was thin and rollable (not quite crepe-thin, but maybe 1.5 times as thick, and it didn't seem like making the batter thinner would have been a problem). – Erik P. Apr 19 '12 at 13:10
I would be really surprised if a gluten-free flour substitute didn't work. I know that it works for things like brownies, and that crêpes don't really have much gluten development. I've never tried it myself, though. – Jefromi Apr 19 '12 at 21:49

I thought that crepes (and tasty pancakes) were traditionally made with buckwheat flour. Crepes in particular because buckwheat makes a finer flour. So, traditionally made crepes would be gluten free.

share|improve this answer

In south India we have a variation of the crepe called a dosa. The dosa batter is made of rice and lentils, thereby gluten free.

You can buy the batter in an indian store nearby, or make it yourself using a blender/grinder.

The dosa is usually savory, so I think it would work best as a savory crepe, though you can try it with fruit, sugar etc .

share|improve this answer
I suspect that if you removed any savory seasonings (e.g. the fenugreek) it would work fine with sweet things - rice certainly does, and lentils aren't terribly strongly flavored. – Jefromi Apr 24 '12 at 2:26

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.