Take the 2-minute tour ×
Seasoned Advice is a question and answer site for professional and amateur chefs. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Does Domino's pizza's use mozzarella cheese for their pizzas? If so,is it also rennet-free?

share|improve this question
    
I would suspect that the answer to this could vary by country. –  Samuel Walker May 8 '12 at 21:56
    
@DSingh2 Are you referring to Animal rennet, or rennet in general? If just animal, please edit question –  TFD Sep 18 '12 at 4:31
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 11 down vote accepted

According to the nutritional information posted on their website Domino's uses a blend of Mozzarella, American, Cheddar, Feta, Parmesan, and Provolone Cheeses.

Somebody, apparently, with similar concerns asked Domino's and received this response:

excerpt from letter, emphasis added:

Domino's Pizza Diced Cheese for Pizza is a specially produced cheese made exclusively for our use. It is a natural dairy product, produced from cultured, pasteurized milk, rennet; and salts of calcium and/or sodium. The type of rennet used in the production of this cheese is restricted to a microbial-based rennet or a genetically-engineered rennet. Animal derived rennets will not be allowed.

As far as the other cheeses (Cheddar, Parmesan, Provolone, etc.), Domino's does not specify the source of rennet used in these products. They may or may not contain animal rennet. This depends on the supplier's current source and is always subject to change without notification to Domino's Pizza.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks and hoping that Domino pizza should always use non animal rennet for their pizzas,specially for those vegetarians don't take animal rennet. –  DSingh2 May 9 '12 at 3:29
2  
Despite millions in advertising trying to claim otherwise, Domino's specializes in make CHEAP pizza, not "GOOD" pizza. –  Cos Callis May 9 '12 at 4:26
add comment

Just an FYI there are 2 forms of rennet that are not animal rennet. Most cheeses are (and have to be...no option) coagulated with rennet...animal or vegetable or ... artificial...but still rennet.

So anyone who insists that their cheese be rennet free is limiting their choices to the types of cheeses that are "lactic acid coagulated" ...cheeses that DO NOT INCLUDE cheddars, parmesans, most mozzarellas, just about anything french or german or american, english, dutch.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.