Seasoned Advice is a question and answer site for professional and amateur chefs. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I've looked through the ingredient labels of cheap candy bars, and quality baking white chocolate chips alike, and have been unable to find any milk-less white chocolate, they all contain either milk fat, skim milk, or dry milk.

Has anyone seen vegan white chocolate before, or is it even possible to make?

share|improve this question
Vegan white chocolate does exist; google "vegan white chocolate" and you will find options. I cannot vouch for the flavor. – SAJ14SAJ Mar 24 '13 at 23:02
up vote 24 down vote accepted

White chocolate by regulation is at least 3.5% milk fat and 14% milk solids. As far as I know, the EU uses the same definition as the FDA (US).

So, nothing vegan can legally be sold as "white chocolate".

That said, there are a great many non-dairy white chocolate substitutes, usually made with any combination of soy milk, maltodextrin, vanilla, and saturated/hydrogenated fat (palm oil, shortening, etc.), among other ingredients/additives of course.

They don't taste the same as real white chocolate, but then again, white chocolate isn't real chocolate to begin with, so it can't hurt to experiment with some of the products out there - which can be easily sourced with a Google search, as one of the comments indicates.

share|improve this answer
Nice catch, I did not realize we had standards of identity white chocolate. – SAJ14SAJ Mar 25 '13 at 0:33
I didn't know there were regulations for chocolate - thanks for the prompt answer! – Celesol Mar 25 '13 at 2:00

You can make your own vegan white chocolate by using raw cacao butter + some vegan powdered sugar + a little vanilla + some coconut oil (so it doesn't solidify at too low a temperature).

  1. Melt 1/2 cup raw cocoa butter in the microwave - be gentle - cycle on/off 20 second increments.
  2. in a stand mixer, blend 1 cup Vegan powdered sugar and 1 tsp Vanilla (also 1/4 tsp salt if desired)
  3. Add 1 TBSP melted coconut oil
  4. Mix until blended together.
  5. pour in molds to cool, or alternately pour on a piece of parchment paper and let cool, then break into pieces.
share|improve this answer

White chocolate in it's purest form is manufactured from cocoa butter. Min. content must be 26% cocoa butter fat, milk fat and milk solids, vanilla & lecithin emulsifiers. White confectionery on the other hand is vegetable fat substituted for the cocoa butter which is misleadingly labeled "chocolate". So I guess as long as the white chocolate is made from cocoa butter it can also be made from other non dairy ingredients perhaps. Although I haven't personally seen, tried or heard of any. But to label it chocolate it HAS to have the cocoa butter as it's melting property and not vegetable fat.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.