Seasoned Advice is a question and answer site for professional and amateur chefs. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I love using smoked ham hock in soups, beans and stews. Dextrose is a listed item on this package I bought - does dextrose contain gluten?

share|improve this question
There's really no way to answer this. Dextrose can come from many sources. It'd be best to contact the producer. – SourDoh Nov 7 '13 at 22:16

Dextrose is another name for the sugar glucose. In the US most powdered dextrose and/or glucose syrups are produced from corn starch, in the UK and other European countries they may be made from wheat or other starchy plant sources. According to a 2008 study from Finland, even though wheat based glucose syrup was found to contain low amounts of residual gluten, it was tolerated without harmful effect by people with celiac disease.

Though the ham is not likely advertised as "gluten free", even if there was gluten in the dextrose, the final concentration of gluten in the ham would likely be well below the 20ppm concentration to qualify as such according to the FDA rules.

share|improve this answer

Dextrose is sugar. Gluten is a protein from wheat. So yes, I'm relatively certain your ham hocks are gluten free.

share|improve this answer
FYI: Dextrose can be made from grains, including wheat. So the question is not as simple as it might seem. – Mien Nov 7 '13 at 21:20

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.