Tag Info

New answers tagged

-2

Yes and no, depending on one's definition of gluten. I don't have all the proper references on hand right now, so please forgive me if the explanation is missing the full chemical explanation (references to peptides and such). I'm recalling all of this from memory from a presentation given by an all-types-of-gluten celiac I met several years ago. All ...


4

Glutinous rice doesn't contain gluten, the term just relates to its sticky texture when cooked. From Glutinous rice on Wikipedia: Like all types of rice, glutinous rice does not contain dietary gluten (i.e. does not contain glutenin and gliadin), and should be safe for gluten-free diets. While that is marked citation needed doing a search on around 20 ...


11

No, it doesn't. Rice is always gluten free. It just so happens that words like "gluten", "glutinous" and "glue" are words which have a common root, meaning "sticky". Glutinous rice is sticky due to a high proportion of bushy starches in the rice grain. It has nothing to do with gluten, which is a complex formed by wheat proteins, and not contained in any ...


0

I have three thoughts relating to your dilemma, and I have some bad news. I think the execution of these noodles relies on techology and an ingredient you may find difficult to aquire and utilize. Starches go through a variety of predictable physical changes when water, fat, and heat are introduced to them. (There are many well-written posts about this.) ...



Top 50 recent answers are included