Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

18

White chocolate by regulation is at least 3.5% milk fat and 14% milk solids. As far as I know, the EU uses the same definition as the FDA (US). So, nothing vegan can legally be sold as "white chocolate". That said, there are a great many non-dairy white chocolate substitutes, usually made with any combination of soy milk, maltodextrin, vanilla, and ...


17

Without further qualification, if someone refers to themselves as vegetarian (in America), the general assumption is that they are lacto-ovo vegetarian. That means they don't eat animal products that require killing the animal, but eggs and dairy are fine. Gelatin comes from a dead animal (unless they start harvesting it with arthroscopic probes :), so it is ...


16

A vegan is not going to eat your pan, just the food that was made on it. As no animals were harmed in the making of your pan (well, probably but how would you know) the pan itself wouldn't be an issue. Of course if a tiny bit of pan seasoning could go into the food, however anything else used in the preparation of the meal like cutting boards could cause a ...


13

Your question implies that cholesterol only comes from animal products. This is not correct. Cholesterol is present in many plants. Other answers and comments claim that only amounts "less than 0.5" (units omitted) of cholesterol is permitted to be listed as 0, and that "no cholesterol" is an added claim that a product is truly cholesterol free. This too ...


11

According to the nutritional information posted on their website Domino's uses a blend of Mozzarella, American, Cheddar, Feta, Parmesan, and Provolone Cheeses. Somebody, apparently, with similar concerns asked Domino's and received this response: excerpt from letter, emphasis added: Domino's Pizza Diced Cheese for Pizza is a specially produced cheese ...


10

Vegetarianism is not clearly defined, but a catch-all for various dietary choices. Some vegetarians, will just simply not eat red meat, but would eat fish and poultry. Gelatin and Rennet (found in cheese) may or may not be included. I have friends who don't eat mammals, and others who won't eat anything warm-blooded. Lacto-Ovo vegetarians will eat eggs ...


10

You'd have to ask your vegan to be absolutely sure. If they're practical, they'll acknowledge that there might be a bit of meat fat polymerized onto the pan but they won't be actually eating it, as long as you've seasoned and cleaned well. If however they're sufficiently strict, they could conceivably say, no, it's touching an animal product, I won't eat it. ...


9

Many vegans use nutritional yeast as a cheese substitute. There are also "vegan cheeses" that are available. However, check the ingredients closely as many fake cheeses contain casein and thus are not vegan. Some vegan cheeses will melt and some will not. I've never tried them in a sauce. Here's a link to The Vegetarian Resource Group that has more ...


9

Gelatin is not vegetarian as it is made from dead animals... any vegetarian, from ovo-lacto in the liberal end to the fruitarian on the extreme end should have an aversion. A person who eats fish and/or poultry is by no means a vegetarian, just a selective omnivore. If you need a similar product fruit pectin is a good alternative.


9

As a vegetarian, I regularly try to compensate for the lack of meat in a normally meat-containing dish using a number of methods, though I feel none can truly replace the addition of meat perfectly. In my experience, duplicating the effects of the addition of meat to a dish requires considering individually the effects the addition would have. First I'll ...


8

I have the giant box of Ener-G egg replacer sitting in my cabinet, but I've found that in most cases a flax egg will do. 1 T flax seed 3 T water Grind the flax in a coffee grinder or mortar & pestle and then mix in the water. Voila, you have one egg.


8

Umami comes from natural glutamates. Two excellent vegan sources of umami are tomato paste and dried shiitake mushrooms (rehydrate then mince). Fresh shiitake aren't nearly so high in glutamates. They are available very inexpensively at Asian groceries. If you want vegetarian, but not vegan and can find a rennet-free parmesan-style cheese, they are also ...


7

I've never made seitan, but just like when making bread, gluten needs water to activate. I don't know the precise amount. Oil, if anything, has the opposite effect, coating the gluten molecules and keeping them from linking up, which is why we use fat in pastries to keep them from getting tough.


7

As some people pointed out it really depends on what you are trying to make. (and believe me it's not easier to replace the girlfriend as someone above suggested, vegan baking is so easy) You can use the egg replacer that's available at health food stores (you mix one tbsp with water, following the directions on the box for each egg). The downside of this ...


7

I really enjoy anything by Isa Chandra Moskowitz (Vegan With a Vengeance, Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, Veganomicon, etc.) (website, with lots of awesome recipes: http://www.theppk.com/). I also second the Moosewood suggestion; while lots of the things in there are lacto-ovo, most things are easy to veganize, and all really good. Lastly, while it's ...


7

So yesterday I tried out the experiment. I made the naked fatty per the normal recipe, and using the gimme lean breakfast sausage. The two primary concerns I had were (a) to ensure the sausage didn't come apart during the smoking process and (b) to ensure a good amount of smokiness was imparted. With respect to (a), the heat I worried might denature the ...


6

There are a few aspects to consider, but will always boil down to "you have to ask the individual". Making a piece of cookware "safe" for a given person involves two components: Removing the contaminant in question in a manner that will prevent accidental ingestion of said contaminant. Making the item seem un-contaminated. At first glance this is similar ...


6

Salt is very much an individual thing. Luckily, you can always add more if needed. The only rule of thumb I can think of is to add a little, taste, and see if it needs more. I would also suggest sweating the vegetables before adding water, with some salt on them. Brings out the flavours better, thus needing less salt overall for flavour.


6

These are two related, but different products. Gluten is protein that is formed from two pre-cursor proteins, glutanin and gliaden, found in wheat flour in the presence of water and under enzymatic activity. It forms resilient stretchable networks which give yeast raised bread its structure. Whole wheat flour is... well... whole wheat berries, ground up. ...


6

Cooks Illustrated has an ultimate veggie burger recipe that you can adapt. Their key to umami is cremini mushrooms. I've made that recipe and it was well received. Of course, no one mistook them for real hamburgers, but the patties tasted quite good. MSG (monosodium glutamate) is to umami flavour what sugar is to sweet flavour. So if you're pro-msg, you ...


5

To make it vegan is simple: Replace the milk with any other kind of milk (soy, rice, hemp, etc.) Replace butter with some kind of margarine (I recommend Earth Balance, but just pick anything that doesn't have trans fats) Replace eggs with either commercial egg replacer, or apple sauce As for making it moister, I have no idea.


5

Generic replacements: Seitan: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheat_gluten_(food) Tofu Tempeh Commercial fake meats: Tofurkey (Roasts, Sausages, Deli Slices) Lightlife


5

You can caramelise onions for making the rich sweet-savoury flavour, but you have to caramelise it slowly, and be very patient...it doesn't get made in 5 minutes. Also, for something ready-made, Coconut Secret makes a coconut-based liquid aminos that contain no soy, and we got it at Whole Foods.


5

There are two common symbols; the European Vegetarian Union (EVU) and Vegan Action. In my experience, you will see the EVU on packaging and on restaurant menus. I've only ever seen the Vegan Action symbol on packaged products. The EVU is not exclusively vegan so you'll still need to read the packaging or ask about ingredients if in a restaurant. The ...


5

As citadelgrad mentioned, there are currently agencies that certify vegan standards. Vegan Action's certification (the V in the heart) is no longer accepting new applications for certification. According to this article from Vegetarian Journal, other certification groups include the European Vegetarian Union (not vegan), Natural Food Certifiers, The Vegan ...


5

The best substitute in general for lard would be a combination of vegetable shortening - which is generally hydrogenated palm oil - and butter. Since this is a vegan substitute, you'll have to just stick to the shortening. That's OK - shortening was quite literally invented to replace lard - but you'll lose a lot of the flakiness and full flavour if you ...


5

I'm vegan, and don't eat honey, but I think it very much depends on why you went vegan. If it's for health then I don't think it makes a difference. If you want to get into a moral argument you can make the case that it's closer to using wool than using milk... (I don't make the argument, but I respect that people can) but the choice is yours - it was a ...


5

The beany flavor is destroyed by heat. Some recipes do call for boiling the beans before grinding as you said. Most recipes that I have seen call for boiling the milk for a while after it has been strained. I find this more convenient as the milk is strained and pressed cold and then heated. If your milk is still excessively beany then you may not be ...


5

Glad you asked this - I had the same question a couple weeks ago when making homemade soy milk with a new SoyaBella maker I got. This article from the VeganYumYum provided some good information. Here's a summary of things to try. Always soak beans in boiling water, then rinse the beans off thoroughly before making your soy milk. This is probably the most ...


5

Most of the varieties of a product called Bacon Salt (originally semi-local to my area, but I think now available nationally in the US and online) are vegan, and all, to my knowledge, are vegetarian. I've used it in concert with various fats (olive oil, butter, neutral vegetable oils) to get fairly convincing result, usually adding it directly to the fat a ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible