New answers tagged


Simple: you can freeze it. Nut milks, especially homemade versions, can be frozen successfully. It doesn't seem to be a recommended practice according to commercial producers, but I would guess that's more to do with the emulsifiers and thickeners (typically lecithin or xanthan gum) used to improve the texture of commercially produced nut milks. Assuming ...


If you are preparing the spicy food yourself, the easiest way to mitigate the Capsaicin "burn" is the well tried Szechuan method of adding some sugar to the cooking. If you are dining out, the way I have mitigated the "burn" after more than a decade living in South East Asia and Sri Lanka, is to eat a spoonful of plain steamed rice. Rather than drinking ...


One possibility is to take a small amount of coconut oil in your mouth and let it melt, then swish it around and swallow. It should absorb the capsaicin oil and take it along out of your mouth. Trader Joe's organic virgin coconut oil would be my particular recommendation; it has a well-rounded, sweet coconut flavor and good texture. It's not explicitly ...


My favorite vegan mozarella is Teese Vegan Mozarella from Chicago Vegan Foods. Indeed, a vegetarian friend of mine who does eat dairy actually prefers Teese on pizza to dairy cheese. Chicago Vegan Foods recently discontinued retail sale of Teese, though it's still available to food services. You can contact them to find an up-to-date list of distributors. ...


Agar is a gelling agent and will not work as a coagulant. Give epsom salts a try. I have not experienced the graininess that you suggest.


You don't have to drink it for it to work; it just has to be in your mouth. Is that against the rules? I'm not vegan nor am I lactose intolerant, I also don't drink milk but I'll ask for a glass if this needs doing (and then spit it out).


You could also eat spicy food more often, that way you'll get used to it and won't need to wash away the spice. Your tolerance will get higher pretty quickly.


I've always liked the bread solution more than the dairy solution. It somehow feels to me that bread "mops up" the spicy stuff from my mucosa, while dairy dissolves it, but also spreads it around in my mouth. Maybe it's just a matter of personal preference, but when you can't have dairy, and even when you can, bread is worth to try. Just a piece of fresh ...


The "Mozzarisella" is based on rice and goes relatively close to the original one, unluckily it may not be so easy to find it. Personally I've never encountered it outside Italy.


Obvious answer is strong alcohol like vodka. It doesn't contain any animal products so I suppose vegan can use it.


There's a great answer to this from Vietnam, where super-spicy food is popular and dairy generally isn't. It combines many of the other suggestions into something wonderfully smooth and soothing: Avocado and coconut milk smoothie Here's one example recipe and pic. Note that in Vietnam, they love (non-vegan) condensed milk and tend to add it to everything ...


Im surprised not to see raw cucumber here - I thought it was a standard go-to. Sliced, or just munch on one raw, depending on how much of your mouth is on fire :-)


Avocado would be the classic answer IME (often in the form of guacamole, but not required to be in that form.) AFAIK it's the fat effectively diluting the hot pepper oil in either case, (where it's unaffected by water since it won't mix) rather than any enzyme. ...and then there's not making the food so spicy it's uncomfortable (horribly unfashionable, I ...


I have done no testing of this at all but I was surprised to find on this site that they recommend trying a spoon full (or cube of) sugar. Perhaps the easiest way of calming down a flaming mouth is by sucking on a sugar cube or holding a teaspoon of sugar in your mouth. This helps by absorbing the spicy oil that is coating your mouth, as well as giving ...


Try a nut milk (almond comes to mind), soy milk or coconut milk. Here's a highly rated recipe for vegan "Sour Cream".


Soaking overnight has a very different effect than just blanching. Blanching is only surface level and allows you to peel the skin. Overnight soaking allows the almonds to absorb water, soften up, become more digestible as well as seep & remove harder/ negative 'enzymes' & bitterness into the water, which can easily be eliminated. And ...

Top 50 recent answers are included