New answers tagged vegetarian
I'd say it is a "matter of taste," literally, because what comes out will change depending on how you process the vegetables. For example, despite the common use of carrots in stock, I feel like many chefs don't actually want a real "carroty" flavor in stock. Quartering or roughly chopping a carrot is enough to give them plenty of "carrot notes" in their ...
For people with good knife skills, it doesn't take any longer to chop into 1/4-1/2" dice, regardless of what the recipe calls for, especially when the solids are discarded. I only use 1/2"-1 1/2" dice when the presentation calls for it. I do like the maillard on the large surface area of the fine chop during the sauté.
Marmite or Vegemite with a splash of lemon juice or soy sauce with lemon juice is also a good replacement. Marmite is my favorite replacement so far but you only require a small amount dissolved in some hot water.
The recipe that I traditionally used calls for cleaned then boiled lentils that were then allowed to cool and then transferred to the food processor and reduced to a smooth paste.
There is an "established" indian dish like that, it is called Masala Vada; western vegetarian meatball recipes probably took the idea from there. Looking at a couple recipes easily found on the net for such vadai, they all suggest the lentils be soaked, then ground raw.
I don't think gelatin is vegetarian unless specified. Gelatin is made from animal bones.
Oh, by all means. Take a peek at the two different veggie burger options at ChefSteps.com. Unfortunately everything I read states the enzyme is derived from meat or vegetable products nad I can't find "vegan" Transglutaminase. If anyone knows of a strictly plant based extract of said enzyme, please pass it on!
Try using irish moss. I recommend you to search gelatin substitutes in google and find what is best for you. Here are other suggestions for u;.japanese arrowroot,guar gum, xathan gum, and guar bean
Top 50 recent answers are included