In Europe, the very large majority of glucose syrups are actually derived from wheat and thus not gluten-free, while corn syrup is gluten-free (as far as I understand). From this question, I learnt that golden syrup is actually a good substitute for corn syrup, and thus, I am wondering: is golden syrup gluten-free? Does it depend on the source of sugar used, i.e. cane vs. beet?
Golden syrup is indeed gluten free, as neither sugar cane or beet contains gluten. In fact, beet fibre is used in many gluten-free products. See the Tate & Lyle site for more information:
As an aside it is worth noting that glucose syrup is gluten free even if derived from wheat. The same goes for dextrose and caramel colour.
If an exact brand processed product is not declared as gluten free (by label or manufacturer statement), and if it is to be an ingredient in either a product sold as gluten free and/or to be served to an actual celiac patient, assume it is not. So above answer will be valid for the Tate&Lyle product mentioned, but not for generic "golden syrup".