Does Domino's pizza's use mozzarella cheese for their pizzas? If so,is it also rennet-free?
According to the nutritional information posted on their website Domino's uses a blend of Mozzarella, American, Cheddar, Feta, Parmesan, and Provolone Cheeses.
Somebody, apparently, with similar concerns asked Domino's and received this response:
excerpt from letter, emphasis added:
Domino's Pizza Diced Cheese for Pizza is a specially produced cheese made exclusively for our use. It is a natural dairy product, produced from cultured, pasteurized milk, rennet; and salts of calcium and/or sodium. The type of rennet used in the production of this cheese is restricted to a microbial-based rennet or a genetically-engineered rennet. Animal derived rennets will not be allowed.
As far as the other cheeses (Cheddar, Parmesan, Provolone, etc.), Domino's does not specify the source of rennet used in these products. They may or may not contain animal rennet. This depends on the supplier's current source and is always subject to change without notification to Domino's Pizza.
Just an FYI there are 2 forms of rennet that are not animal rennet. Most cheeses are (and have to be...no option) coagulated with rennet...animal or vegetable or ... artificial...but still rennet.
So anyone who insists that their cheese be rennet free is limiting their choices to the types of cheeses that are "lactic acid coagulated" ...cheeses that DO NOT INCLUDE cheddars, parmesans, most mozzarellas, just about anything french or german or american, english, dutch.