Is it proper to identify people who eat fish but not meat as a class of vegetarians, or is there a better word to describe these group of people (who generally find pulses including beans, broad beans, chick peas, and lentils a perfect substitute for meat but deeply regret the fact that fish fats needed by the hunan body are not available elsewhere)?

  • Fish fats are NOT required by the human body. There are lots of names, from different cultures. AFAIK none are scientific or medical categories etc.
    – TFD
    Commented Jun 24, 2015 at 8:52
  • Could this not have been answered by a simple google search?
    – Neil Meyer
    Commented Jun 24, 2015 at 17:26
  • I'm a lacto-ovo pescatarian, but since so many people don't know what that is I usually just tell them that I have a trendy eating disorder. ;-)
    – goblinbox
    Commented Jun 24, 2015 at 21:19

2 Answers 2


Vegetarians don't eat any animals including fish. Those who don't eat meat but fish are called pescetarians. For practical reasons, sometimes pescetarians say that they are vegetarians, as Joe says in his answer in this question:

I read something recently (might've been a blog, might've been some online publication), explaining why the person called themselves a vegetarian and yet would eat fish:

  • Because it was easier than explaining all of their can/can't eat items.

Many people aren't familiar with the term 'pescatarian', and if someone invites you to a dinner party, it's easier to just say 'I'm a vegetarian' than 'I'm a lacto-ovo pescetarian' and have to take the time explaining what it means. If they prepare vegetarian food, you can eat it ... they don't need to know the whole ontology of different types of vegetarianism.


The word is pescetarian.

5 characters right here.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.