I'd like to know whether jin jun mei (golden beautiful eyebrow, a Chinese tea) is kosher. To know that, I first need to know its ingredients and how it's processed.

What are the ingredients in Jin Jun Mei? How are the ingredients processed?

migrated from judaism.stackexchange.com Dec 18 '15 at 15:25

This question came from our site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more.


According to Wikipedia, Jin Jun Mei tea is just a (unsmoked) Lapsang souchong tea or, in simpler words, a black tea. It is considered a black tea of special or extra high quality, but there are no indications that it is produced differently that "normal" black teas.

You might double-check with your religious authorities as the question of being kosher or not is off-topic here, but as I see it, the same rules apply as for any black tea.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy