Search type Search syntax
Tags [tag]
Exact "words here"
Author user:1234
user:me (yours)
Score score:3 (3+)
score:0 (none)
Answers answers:3 (3+)
answers:0 (none)
isaccepted:yes
hasaccepted:no
inquestion:1234
Views views:250
Sections title:apples
body:"apples oranges"
URL url:"*.example.com"
Favorites infavorites:mine
infavorites:1234
Status closed:yes
duplicate:no
migrated:no
wiki:no
Types is:question
is:answer
Exclude -[tag]
-apples
For more details on advanced search visit our help page
Results tagged with Search options answers only user 67
0
votes
Both Maggi and Bragg's are made from soy, so don't use them. The closest things that I can think of Worstershire sauce or fish sauce ... both give salt, but also bring other qualities that might not … that I've found suggests that one of the ingredients in it is soy sauce. (I don't know if they're all copying from the same recipe, so it might be possible that there are commercially made ones out there without it) …
answered Feb 12 '15 by Joe
1
vote
Simmer typically means that there are bubbles. A slow simmer has a few bubbles occassionally appearing, while a fast simmer has more rapud bubbles, but it's not the violent movement you get with boil …
answered Jul 27 '11 by Joe
4
votes
When straining things that clog up the screen, I tend to use a spoon or spatula to move the stuff around, so you can get expose un-obstructed parts of the screen. Of course, you might end up pushing …
answered Nov 1 '10 by Joe
0
votes
There's actually an industry of 'fake meat', which is making stuff that looks like meat, but isn't: http://www.adventuresinfakemeat.com/ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meat_analogue http://www.slate.c …
answered Dec 7 '12 by Joe
9
votes
It doesn't answer the follow-up question, but one subtle difference is that tamari doesn't always have wheat in it, while soy always does. This means, if you're cooking for people with gluten … intollerance, some types of tamari is safe, while soy sauce never is. (I've made the mistake of using soy when cooking for someone ... I now have a bottle of wheat free tamari stashed for the next time, but I've yet to compare the two directly) …
answered Mar 3 '11 by Joe
2
votes
One item I don't see that's been mentioned -- Canned tuna fish. I grew up with tuna melts, tuna salad, tuna noodle casserole, etc. It's very versatile, doesn't have to be cooked (so very quick to …
answered Mar 21 '11 by Joe
1
vote
I've been told that ghee has no lactose in it, so that might be one alternative to butter, but not to the milk, as I find you need some water-based liquid to get the consistency I like -- you're ruptu …
answered Apr 27 '12 by Joe